Destination: Goodwill, East Peoria, IL

Sometimes, when the life of a news producer wears me down, I collect my purse, go on break, and drive down to the local Goodwill store in downtown East Peoria.  For those who are unfamiliar with the city, it is a booming metropolis, anchored by local manufacturing and agricultural corporations such as Caterpillar and ADM.  The retail sector– especially–is being built up to accommodate the needs of employees.  This is how I know I’ll come across a steal or two.

One summer afternoon, I discovered just that.  Here’s what I found during my very productive lunch break:


I was pretty pleased when I stumbled across a pair of black Steve Madden cage heels.  With a $15 price tag, I knew I couldn’t pass it up.  Next, I found a floral dress from Forever 21, one of my favorite retailers. It’s still just a little small, but at $4, I couldn’t just leave it on the rack.  (It’s also serving as inspiration for my weight loss journey.) Lastly, I came across a $4 pair of white capris.  These are a staple in any summer wardrobe and work well for casual or professional outfits. I was a bit hesitant to purchase them, since I’ve never owned white pants before, but I’m incredibly happy I did. Not only do they look nice with classy work tops, but I can pair them with bright statement pieces, which are in for Fall 2012.

I’d say that shopping trip was pretty successful, as I dropped only $23.  Not bad for a 30 minute shopping spree.

— Katie

What do you think?

