Destination: Goodwill, Peoria, Illinois

My mother, sister, and I decided to check out the newest Goodwill store in town, which opened a couple weeks ago. Of course, the facility is just like any other Goodwill store but for some reason, the excitement of never knowing what you’ll find brought us running to the grand opening.

At first, sifting through racks was turning up negative.  The tops were too short, the skirts too tight, and the shoe rack was full of footwear rejects.  After two trips to the dressing room and more laps around the store, I picked out several items that made the trip to the new Goodwill store worth it:

The first item I found was a pea green and brown leather M. London handbag for $5. I wasn’t too familiar with the brand, but decided to buy it anyway since I’m an incurable purse-a-holic. (Upon doing research, I still couldn’t find much about the company. Anyone know anything about it?) Next, I came across a blue and pink plaid American Eagle button up, marked at $7.  It’s incredibly comfortable and I enjoy shirts like this, especially for cool summer nights or autumn days. The mint green top and creme lace-detailed top were actually spur-of-the-moment purchases, both at $3.50.  However, they’re staple pieces I couldn’t pass up, especially since I imagined the creme top as a perfect complement to my favorite high-waisted gray pencil skirt and the mint green top as a lovely layering item.  I immediately fell in love with the detailed coral top, mostly because it’s my color of choice at the moment, but also because of its flowy fit and 3/4 length sleeves. Finally, the plum Coldwater Creek jacket wasn’t initially on my “to-get” list, but after I tried it on, I knew I had to get it. The sleek fit and silver buttons especially caught my eye.

When all was said and done, I walked out of the new Goodwill store with 5 tops and a purse, all for under $30. ($28.09, to be exact).

–Katie

Comments
One Response to “Destination: Goodwill, Peoria, Illinois”
  1. Great finds! Love the colours in the checked shirt

What do you think?

