Katie’s Must Haves for Fall

It’s here, barganistas…we’re now into the month of September, which means fall fashions have just hit stores.

But instead of being overwhelmed by the colors, styles, and accessories this season, let me make it easier for you by showing you my favorite pics for fall.  Keep in mind that all these items were found either on sale or at thrift shops, so the next time you hit up a store, just print this blog off as a guide and have fun finding your favorite pieces for this autumn.

1. Clothing

Striped 3/4 length sleeve basic top from Gap

This striped basic tee is pretty much a staple for any season but you’ll definitely want to add it to your fall wardrobe.  Stripes are not only big on the runway, but also in all the tabloids. Celebrities are pairing tees like this with black blazers, scarves, and shorts with tights underneath. It can also be dressed up with a black pencil skirt, a chunky necklace, and brightly colored pumps. My bill for this shirt–$3 from Goodwill.

Vintage burgundy pleated skirt from Goodwill

Burgundy is one of the “it” colors for the season. You’ll find it everywhere, from suit sets to dresses to accessories. I chose my burgundy in the form of a pleated skirt, since I had been wanting one for a while and there is something so elegant and timeless about this classic piece. I purchased this skirt from Goodwill for a whopping 4 dollars.

Thrifted denim skirt, hunter green Mossimo sweater, plaid American Eagle button up

Inspired by a photo of Nicole Richie in a black sweater with a patterned button-up underneath, I quickly took that look and turned it into one of my own for the fall.  Hunter green is another “it” color for the season, so I snatched up this Mossimo sweater from Salvation Army for 50 cents.  The plaid button-up and denim skirt I had previously gotten from Goodwill, but I thought they all went nicely together. All I need are black tights, ankle booties, and a long necklace, and I’ll be set.

Crocheted top from Charming Charlie

Crochet and lace is another big trend for the season. I love how timeless it looks and paired with leather jackets or skirts gives that rough and tough look a bit of a girly edge. I would definitely stick with lacey neutrals, though. Don’t go too crazy overboard on colorful lace or crochet. This shirt was purchased on clearance for $15 at Charming Charlie.

2. Accessories

Purple snakeskin pumps

According to a spread in the September issue of People Style Watch magazine, snake embossing makes anything look more expensive.  That’s why these $10 shoes from Plato’s Closet were added to my closet. I plan on pairing them with a gray and black dress and purple jacket. They were absolutely too adorable (and comfortable) to pass up.  However, if you’re a little hesitant about wearing colored heels, pick up some black pumps. Those go with just about anything.

Brown, navy, green, and yellow tie-died scarf

I’m not sure why this scarf caught my eye, but all of the colors woven into it just screamed fall. When put with my black and white striped shirt and green military inspired jacket, I find it works perfectly with the military trend that is coming back for this fall. Keep this in mind when going to the thrift store and finding shirts with lined buttons and green, trench coat-like jackets. And, with a price tag of $3 at Plato’s Closet, I figured it was a fashion must have.

Moccassins from Forever 21

Everyone needs a pair of moccasins. Plain and simple.  One of the trends carrying over from summer is the Native American style, and I’m so happy to keep my comfy moccasins out for the fall. I got this pair at Forever 21 for $25.

Mustard yellow bag from Liz & Co.

Along with burgundy and hunter green, mustard yellow is another popular color for fall. I bought this bag at Goodwill for $8.  If mustard yellow is a color you don’t find yourself wearing too often, I’d definitely suggest it for a purse.  Carrying a yellow purse gives a black and white or even gray outfit that pop of color that it needs.

3. Beauty

Metalic gray nail polish from Orly

They say it’s because of either the popularity of “50 Shades of Grey” or Michelle Obama wearing a blue-grey lacquer at the Democratic National Convention…but somehow, grey nail polish is in for fall.  Honestly, I’ve seen the look done before the romance novel or the first lady donned the color, so it’s been a long time coming for grey. Now, it’s finally getting its chance. So, consider picking up a shade of grey nail polish for fall (I’d suggest either the one above or one that it is a tinge lighter, perhaps a blue-grey or lavender-grey). This brand is usually $8 and can be purchased at Sally’s Beauty Supply.

Deepest Cherry lip stick from Maybeline

While your eye shadow should be low key, your lips should pop this autumn. I picked up this burgundy shade at Walmart for around $6 and I am absolutely in love with how it makes my lips look.  Wear this with neutral colors or to bring out the red already in your outfit.

 

Well, what are you waiting for? Make your own “must have” list and get updating your wardrobe for the new season. What are some of your favorites? Share your outfits with us on our Facebook page or right here on our blog.

What do you think?

