Fall 2012 Fashion Trends, Day Two: Leather

Trend-2-Fall-2012-Leather

Photo background by Jaqx-Textures

On the Runway

Leather continues to be a big trend on the runway.  Patent or shiny leather is especially in this season, such as Tommy Hilfiger’s lacquered shiny leather coat (in oxblood!) or J.W. Anderson’s glossy magenta ensemble.

Tommy Hilfiger – Photo by Fashionologie

J.W. Anderson – Photo by Fashion Bomb

Other (less shiny) runway looks I love:

Derek Lam

Kevork Kiledjian leather criss-cross dress

See more inspiration on the Destination Thrift Runway Inspiration Pinboard!

Ideas for Styling

Play with textures by pairing leather with a softer fabric, or if you dare, wear an outfit entirely of leather in the form of a chic dress (or fake it with a vest and skirt.)

I love this style blogger’s take on the leather skirt trend:

Another example of pairing hard and soft:

– See more styling inspiration on the Destination Thrift We ❤ Style Bloggers Pinboard!

Tips for Thrifting

Leather can be pricey in thrift stores, but there are usually a few old jackets around.  Ambitious DIY-ers may want to try their hand at restyling, but be aware of the unique challenges of working with leather before you commit.  Check consignment stores for more modern styles of jackets.  Old leather may start cracking, peeling, and flaking, so make sure you test it in the store before buying.  Scratch an unobtrusive place with your fingernail.  If flakes fall off, it’s not going to last you very long.

I’m not sure if I totally buy into the glossy leather look – it can easily look cheap to me.  Don’t settle for fake leather or shiny “pleather” – trust me, you won’t fool anyone.  Do check for leather heels in a glossy finish if you’re looking for a bit of shine in your life.  High-quality shoes made of leather will last you quite a long time, and you’ll be right in step with this fall’s trends.  Even faux patent leather heels tend to look better than entire garments made out of the fake stuff.  Bonus:  great shoes are always in style.

How I Interpreted the Trend

I’m still on the hunt for that great leather jacket.  Since I’m small on top, it can be difficult to find a stylish jacket that fits me well.  (Most leather jackets in the thrifts are too big or have a baggy fit that doesn’t flatter my shape.)  I bought my first leather article of clothing this year:  a Byrnes & Baker miniskirt for $4.99.  It’s not patent leather, but it is a classic look that won’t be out of style in a few years.

leather-mini-skirt-purple-cami-grey-purple-blazer

Bynes & Baker leather miniskirt, styled with B.Moss grey and lavender blazer, Victoria Secret purple cami, and super-high black studded heels

Bynes & Baker leather miniskirt styled with Express red silk blouse

I also scored some vintage leather gloves for only $1 at a local shop in Pekin, IL.  (I’ll be posting pictures on the Destination Thrift Facebook page tomorrow!)

Another great find:  this caramel colored vintage leather cross-body bag that I scored for half off at a Peoria consignment shop.

caramel-leather-crossbody-bag-blue-plaid-shirt-blue-jeans

Caramel-colored leather crossbody purse

What leather piece will you be rocking out this fall?

Read about the other trends for Fall 2012:

  1. Oxblood
  2. Leather – reading now
  3. Velvet
  4. Florals
  5. Shiny & Sparkly
  6. Military-Inspired
  7. Menswear-Inspired
  8. Colorblocking & Pop of Color
  9. Prints
  10. Opulent / Baroque
  11. Hats
  12. Fur
Comments
6 Responses to “Fall 2012 Fashion Trends, Day Two: Leather”
  1. Leather? Hmm… It’s one of those looks that some can pull off and I have always figured I am not one who can, so I have never had an interest in the look. I have come across some great looking leather jackets though, and those would be something I would love to have in my closet. The problem for me is finding one that fits well… The mini skirt with the silk blouse looks great! That is something I might go for.

    • natfee says:

      Thanks, Rejoice for the Day – I always thought I was one of the types of people who couldn’t pull off leather, but I ended up taking the plunge this year. And I totally hear you on the whole finding-leather-jackets-that-fit front. It can be tough to get the fit you want, and unfortunately they seem to be rather rare in thrift stores, at least where I live. Good luck on your future leather-hunting missions! (and post a pic if you find anything good 🙂

  2. Loving the first outfit you put together!

  3. Josh says:

    you look absolutely gorgeous in your leather skirt. Would love to see pictures of you incorporating your leather gloves into the outfit with the red top. Hoping you’ve added to your leather collection over the last few years. ;0) joshmcbrighten86@gmail.com

  4. Josh says:

    you look incredible in your leather skirt. The red shirt gives such a sexy look too. If you have a short waisted leather jacket, you could add it and your gloves to this outfit and pull it off very well.

What do you think?

