Fall 2012 Fashion Trends, Trend Four: Florals

On the Runway

Another carryover from spring, florals are a great pick for fall – especially pants.  Dolce & Gabbana had a strong showing of beautiful floral dresses.  I also loved Christopher Kane’s black-and-floral dress, which had a fun edgy feel to it.

Source: vogue.com via Natalie on Pinterest

– See more runway inspiration on the Destination Thrift Runway Inspiration Pinboard!

Ideas for Styling

Floral may be a traditional print for spring, but it looks fresh and fun this fall, too.  Pick florals with a dark background for the most modern take.  To take it into the cooler weather, layer skirts (or shorts!) with thick tights.  I love styling florals with edgier accessories to toughen them up – this approach works well with the darker floral prints, too.  Try metal-studded accessories or something “hard” like leather.

– See more styling inspiration on the Destination Thrift We ❤ Style Bloggers Pinboard!

Tips for Thrifting

Florals are a perennial fashion fave and ripe for thrifting.  Do pay attention to the prints, as they can easily look dated.  Laura Ashley type dresses from the 1980s and ditzy florals from the 1990s can look a little too identifiable, but some larger-scale grunge era florals look very fresh now.  Just avoid combat boots or you’ll look like a time warp.  I see a lot of large, shapeless floral dresses – DIY-ers can rejoice at the refashioning possibilities here.

How I Interpreted the Trend

I’m still on the lookout for a great pair of floral pants, but I’ll be happy with my tried-and-true floral skirts until that time.

Check out this rayon floral number – it’s actually a skort!  I showed off the shorts underneath for this picture – I’m thinking this garment may be due for a bit of refashioning magic to give it an updated look.  I paired it with a maroon sweater and matching heels.  I can add tights for chilly fall days.

I cheated in this photo – these shorts are actually a SKORT! All That Jazz Skort (shorts here) with Mossimo for Target maroon Sweater and (colorful!) Lily Bloom Purse

Here is the original skort – what do you think? Should I take the plunge and make this piece into shorts?

Here is a silk Jones New York Collection skirt – I just love the watercolor quality and the vibrant colors.  To dress this up for fall, I’d probably throw on a cardigan in a color plucked from the skirt.

Jones New York Collection Floral Silk Skirt with Express Red Silk Shirt

Last but not least, I turned this Target sundress into a fall-weather ensemble by adding a cardigan.  (What can I say, I love cardigans!)  I’d add black tights to guard against the autumn chill.  Florals with dark backgrounds, like the one in this skirt, are very 2012.  I also like that this dress mixes two different floral patterns (a ditzy floral bust and a large-scale floral skirt), and pattern-mixing is also a big trend again this season.  I bought this dress for only $1 at a garage sale this summer!  SCORE!

Xhilaration floral sundress with Abercrombie and Fitch burgundy cardigan

Do you think floral prints can work for fall, or should they stay in the spring?

Read about the other trends for Fall 2012:

  1. Oxblood
  2. Leather
  3. Velvet
  4. Florals – reading now
  5. Shiny & Sparkly
  6. Military-Inspired
  7. Menswear-Inspired
  8. Colorblocking & Pop of Color
  9. Prints
  10. Opulent / Baroque
  11. Hats
  12. Fur
Comments
One Response to “Fall 2012 Fashion Trends, Trend Four: Florals”
  1. I think florals work well for the fall if they are on the darker side or with a darker colored background. I love the look with the sundress and cardigan! Many of my summer dresses turn into winter ones with the addition of dark tights and sweaters. Oh, and I am in favor of the skort 😉

What do you think?

