Fall 2012 Fashion Trends, Trend Twelve: Fur

trend-twelve-fur

On the Runway

Fur – both real and fake – continues its popularity streak this fall season.  Fur could be found in large or small part; a popular new use is trimming with fur, such as Viktor & Rolf’s black-fur-trimmed white coat.  Often designers opted to go outside of the boundary of “natural” colors found in nature and played with bright, colorful furs -see the wild purple coat by Versus for proof!  I love this look by Laura Biagiotti – a luxe fur collar surrounded by a conservative print head-to-toe.

Versus

Source: nymag.com via Natalie on Pinterest

– See more runway inspiration on the Destination Thrift Runway Inspiration Pinboard!

Ideas for Styling

It’s up to you to make an informed decision based on your personal ethics when deciding whether to go faux or for real.  A true fur collar will keep you warm all winter, and bonus – no need for keeping track of a scarf.  Fur collars are the perfect brush of trend if you don’t want to commit to an entire fur coat.  If you’d rather go faux, thrift for pieces from last year and add fresh 2012 touches.

Source: lookbook.nu via Natalie on Pinterest

– See more styling inspiration on the Destination Thrift We ❤ Style Bloggers Pinboard!

Tips for Thrifting

Think about where you will get fur cleaned and how much it will cost before you invest.  Full fur coats can be on the pricier side, but coats with fur collars aren’t too bad.  All options at the thrift store are much cheaper than anything at the department store.  Check for shedding or bald spots in the fur.  Bookmark the VFG Fur Resource for tips on identifying furs.  If faux is what you’re eyeing, run your fingers through it.  Does it feel lush, or stiff and kind of ratty?  Does it look luxurious, or kind of dryer lint-y?

How I Interpreted the Trend

Vintage coats with fur collars are a great way to bring an old-world glamour touch to a modern trend.  I picked up these gorgeous coats for a few dollars in early June of this year, and despite their vintage origins in the 50s or 60s, they’ll be right in step with this trend.

vintage-tan-coat-with-blonde-fox-fur-collar

Vintage coat with fox fur collar

vintage-brown-coat-with-mink-collar

Vintage coat with mink collar

Check out this fur cape, which I got for a steal at $35.  I was drawn to its unique coloring, which hints at the print trend.

brown-rabbit-fur-cape

Rabbit fur cape

I want to know the story behind this piece.  Specifically, why does there appear to be a squirrel on the label?

real-fur-label

Is that a squirrel?

And what do these Japanese characters mean?

content-label-real-fur-cape

What does this mean?

I smell another Vintage Mystery soon… perhaps on all three of these coats!

Will you wear real or faux fur this season?

It’s our last trend for Fall 2012!  Read about the other trends now:

  1. Oxblood
  2. Leather
  3. Velvet
  4. Florals
  5. Shiny & Sparkly
  6. Military-Inspired
  7. Menswear-Inspired
  8. Colorblocking & Pop of Color
  9. Prints
  10. Opulent / Baroque
  11. Hats
  12. Fur – reading now
Comments
4 Responses to “Fall 2012 Fashion Trends, Trend Twelve: Fur”
  1. I don’t think I will be going out of my way to find anything with fur this season – I am not a fan. I do have a wool coat with fur on the hood and if it is cold enough, that will be my take on this trend. I really enjoyed your month of trends and I am planning to incorporate my seasonal wardrobe accordingly. I have some thrifting to do… 😉

    • natfee says:

      That wool coat sounds really comfy-cozy – I’m hoping we won’t have a bitter cold winter this year like everyone is predicting, but it’d be a good excuse to break out that coat 🙂 If you find any other trends in thrift stores, I’d love to see pictures. Thanks for reading/commenting on the month of trends – your comments always brighten my day! Happy thrifting 🙂

  2. Gabi says:

    Baroque chic is a trend that really surprised me. The dresses I’ve seen at Dolce and Gabbana are very impressive. Unfortunately, they are mainly reserved to the eveningwear and I can’t imagine me possibly sporting the trend during the working hours.

    • natfee says:

      Hi Gabi – I agree, baroque chic is definitely one of the tougher trends of the season to work into your wardrobe, especially during the day! Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

What do you think?

